Letter Series #1 – One call away.

(When all of my best friends decided to leave
14232022_10209295741143682_4404289246371851014_o-copy
When Life happens

India to study abroad (I still don’t know why). Life just introduced a new word in my dictionary loneliness. In the technology savvy world one will think that you can never be lonely. But unfortunately the technology has never made us so dependent on people. And if they are not there even virtually. The feeling of loneliness is darkest. Despite of FaceTime, WhatsApp call, message, Skype we were never able to express our selves the way we wanted. The struggle with the new phase in each of our lives made it difficult to stay connected. Deeply. Therefore I decided to stay connected by heart and pouring my thoughts out in different letters to different people. The letters help me gain clarity and have always made my relationship stronger with the people. Hope it continues to do the same)

Hi,
Its been a month for you guys since you left India. And almost 4 months for me leaving Bombay. I know we are at different places but trust me the struggles are the same. If you are struggling with new friends or new environment. I’m struggling with 27 new kids who have committed their life to me for two years.
The reason I’m writing to you guys are because the work I do makes me feel a little disconnected from all the things around and I need to and want to stay connected to you guys ALWAYSThere are no second thoughts. Also today I’m little overwhelmed with everything and missing you guys a lot. And lastly I just love writing. My therapy. Also we can try to keep in touch by actually talking about how we feel and what is happening through emails even if we don’t talk everyday. Seeing that email from a known face just makes your day 🙂
I just want you to take a moment and appreciate the fact that you guys made it where you wanted to be. You are at your dream places. It might be little different or similar to what you had imagined but the fact that you guys are there is probably the best place for you. Don’t ever forget that the reason you are there is because of your hard work and no one can take that from you. in the process of things we start questioning our decisions and ask if it was worth it or not? I do it always when one kid just won’t come down from the bench or when few kids would just not stop fighting. What keeps me going is the question why? Think for a moment if it wasn’t worth it , would you ever do it? The fact that you did it was because you thought it was worth it. Worth one shot or worth one big decision. The purpose gives clarity for everything. Your why for anything is your answer for everything.
Being honest is what I teach my kids everyday and I’ll practice that by saying that I miss you guys a lot. And yes i’m not ashamed or my ego is hurt by saying this aloud. I know you guys have so many things going on and trust me as compared to all of your days combined also I have a super busy day every day. But that doesn’t makes me not think about you guys. Whether it is the train rides to work or the bitching or the cigarette and alcohol conversations. I miss that every day. Today when one of my kids just started talking about how he misses his old school, his old friends and how moving makes him feel lonely. I just couldn’t stop but connect to all of us. How moving has given us a new life but also a part of us has become lonely. Me being with the kids for every day for 10 mins makes him not miss his friends. I want to tell all of you guys that I’m here like I’m for him every time and anytime you want me. Like Charlie Puth song just one call away 🙂
 
Tomorrow I’m going to Bombay and for the first time none of you guys are going to be there. Bombay will be Bombay but not for me without all of you. And I’m sure none of the cities in any other country will be like Bombay without me. Don’t worry thats why I’m planning to come there soon. Trust me this time I will 🙂
Till then please earn a lot so that you can afford me 😀
Lastly.
Its not about who you met,
Its not about where you lived,
Its not about how many years you stayed,
Its all about what connections you made.
With me it was the strongest one and shall stay forever.
Much Love & Faith on us,
Nishtha

Leave a comment